Skip to Content



Booker Prize Booker Prize



The Booker Prize promotes the finest in fiction by rewarding the very best book of the year. The prize is the world's most important literary award and has the power to transform the fortunes of authors and publishers.

The winner of the 2020 prize is: Shuggie Bain by Douglas Stuart

List of previous winners.

Women's Prize for Fiction Women's Prize for Fiction


The Women's Prize for fiction is an annual award, it celebrates the very best fiction written by women throughtout the world. 

The winner of the 2020 prize is: Hamnet by Maggie O'Farrell

List of previous winners.

Old Peculier crime novel of the year 2020 Old Peculier crime novel of the year 2020

Old Peculier 2020 Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of The Year 

Now in its 16th year, the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award was created to celebrate the very best in crime fiction and is open to UK and Irish crime authors whose novels were published in paperback from May 2019 to April 2020.

The winner of the 2020 prize was The Chain by Adam McKinty. 

List of previous winners.

Between The Covers Between The Covers

Between The Covers, a brand new seven-part series on BBC Two designed to bring the nation together through sharing the pleasure of reading.

Books on Prescription Books on Prescription


Books on Prescription helps you to understand and manage your health and wellbeing using self-help reading.

These books provide helpful information and step-by-step self-help techniques for managing a variety of common mental health conditions, including depression and anxiety. They are endorsed by health professionals and can all be found in all our libraries.

A list of available titles can be found here

Mood Boosting Books Mood Boosting Books


Mood-boosting Books is a national promotion of uplifting titles, including novels, poetry and non-fiction. The books are all recommended by readers and reading groups.

Quick Reads Quick Reads


Quick Reads are a series of short books by bestselling authors and celebrities. With no more than 128 pages, they are designed to encourage adults who do not read often, or find reading tough, to discover the joy of books .

Browse our Quick Reads via our catalogue today

Carnegie Medal Carnegie Medal


Awarded annually to the writer of an outstanding book for children. The winner for 2020 is: Lark by Anthony McGowan. 

Kate Greenaway Medal Kate Greenaway Medal




Established in 1955 this prize is awarded annually for distinguished illustration in a book for children.  The winner for 2020 is: Tales From The Inner City by Shaun Tan.